EDA: $2.5 Million Invested to Strengthen Innovation and Economic Growth Initiatives

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross today announced the grantees under the U.S. Economic Development Administration’s (EDA) 2018 University Center Economic Development Program Competition. EDA is providing a total of $2.5 million in grants to 20 colleges and universities in 13 states to run programs that will leverage their assets to promote American innovation and strengthen regional economies.

“Colleges and universities play a vital role in support of locally-devised economic development strategies,” said Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross. “These institutions will work to build the public-private partnerships that are critical to helping America stay competitive in the 21st century.”

Announced in May, this year’s competition was open to higher education institutions and consortia of accredited institutions in states supported by EDA’s Austin and Denver regional offices.

The grantees from EDA’s Austin Regional Office are:

  • University of Arkansas Little Rock will receive $112,850
  • Arkansas State University will receive $112,850
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette will receive $112,850
  • Southern University and A&M College will receive $112,850
  • San Juan College will receive $112,850
  • STC.UNM will receive $112,850
  • Board of Regents of the University of Oklahoma will receive $112,850
  • The University of Texas at Tyler will receive $112,850
  • The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley will receive $112,850
  • Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi will receive $112,850

The grantees from EDA’s Denver Regional Office are:

  • Iowa State University of Science & Technology will receive $138,000
  • University of Northern Iowa will receive $131,000
  • Kansas State University will receive $162,500
  • University of Kansas will receive $140,000
  • The University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) will receive $162,500
  • University of Montana will receive $146,000
  • University of Nebraska at Omaha will receive $112,000
  • University of North Dakota will receive $100,000
  • South Dakota State University will receive $145,000
  • Dixie State University with Southern Utah University will receive $143,000

To read about what these Universities plan to focus on and to learn more about EDA’s University Center program, please visit: https://www.eda.gov/programs/university-centers/

About the U.S. Economic Development Administration (www.eda.gov)
The mission of the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) is to lead the federal economic development agenda by promoting competitiveness and preparing the nation’s regions for growth and success in the worldwide economy. An agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce, EDA makes investments in economically distressed communities in order to create jobs for U.S. workers, promote American innovation, and accelerate long-term sustainable economic growth.

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.