FDIC: New Members for Advisory Council on Community Banking Announced

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) today announced the selection of seven new members for its Advisory Committee on Community Banking, which has been providing advice and recommendations to the FDIC on a broad range of community bank policy and regulatory matters since it was established in 2009. The Advisory Committee members represent a cross-section of community bankers from around the country.

“We are fortunate to have such talented and dedicated community bank leaders join our Advisory Committee, which has been a valuable resource for the FDIC over the last few years,” said FDIC Chairman Martin Gruenberg. “The Advisory Committee has proven to be an important source of information and input for the FDIC on the many significant issues facing community banks.”

The Advisory Committee on Community Banking discusses and provides input to the FDIC on a wide variety of topics, including current examination policies and procedures, credit and lending practices, deposit insurance assessments, insurance coverage and regulatory compliance.

The new members of the Advisory Committee are:

  • Roger Busse, President & CEO, Pacific Continental Bank, Eugene, Oregon
  • Christopher W. Emmons, President & CEO, Gorham Savings Bank, Gorham, Maine
  • Jack A. Hartings, President/CEO, The Peoples Bank Co., Coldwater, Ohio
  • Arvind A. Menon, President & CEO, Meadows Bank, Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Mary Ann Scully, Chairperson, President & CEO, Howard Bank, Ellicott City, Maryland
  • Gwen M. Thompson, President & CEO, Clover Community Bank, Clover, South Carolina
  • John Tolomer, President & CEO, The Westchester Bank, Yonkers, New York

Additional information for individuals already serving on the committee can be found at https://www.fdic.gov/communitybanking/.