December 23, 2022

FEMA: 51 Additional Florida Counties Eligible for FEMA Public Assistance

Fifty-one Florida counties are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance for repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by Hurricane Nicole. The counties are Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Broward, Calhoun, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Glades, Gulf, Hamilton, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Manatee, Marion, Miami-Dade, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Wakulla, and Washington; and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida and the Seminole Tribe of Florida for emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance under the Public Assistance program.

Brevard, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Martin, Nassau, Palm Beach, St. Johns, St. Lucie, and Volusia Counties were authorized for Public Assistance in the initial disaster declaration issued on Dec. 13.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides reimbursement to local and state government agencies for the costs of emergency response, debris removal and restoration of disaster damaged public facilities and infrastructure. Houses of worship and other nonprofit organizations may also be eligible for FEMA Public Assistance.

For the latest information on Florida’s recovery from Hurricane Ian and Nicole, visit Follow FEMA Region 4 (@femaregion4) / Twitter and at

This post was originally published here.