September 28, 2021

FEMA: Disaster Assistance Approved for McKenzie County, ND

FEMA has approved disaster assistance for McKenzie County.  The county was added to the disaster declaration approved by President Biden on Sept. 1 making aid available to eight counties for severe storms and flooding occurring from June 7-11, 2021.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides aid to state, tribal and local governments as well as certain private non-profits for damaged public infrastructure and emergency actions taken to protect lives and property.  Funding is provided as a cost share of no less than 75 percent, with the remainder being the responsibility of the state and the applicant.

The North Dakota Department of Emergency Services manages the Public Assistance program on behalf of the state. Information will be provided to potential applicants in McKenzie County on how to request assistance.

The Public Assistance program was previously approved for Burke, Divide, Emmons, Grant, Kidder, LaMoure, Sioux and Williams counties. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

This post was originally published here.