FEMA: Four More Arkansas Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Continuing preliminary damage assessments have resulted in four more Arkansas counties being designated for disaster assistance as part of the federal disaster declaration for areas affected by severe storms and flooding beginning on May 21.

The addition of Arkansas, Desha, Logan and Pope counties brings the total number of Arkansas counties designated for Individual Assistance to 12. 

Conway, Crawford, Faulkner, Jefferson, Perry, Pulaski, Sebastian and Yell counties were previously designated for Individual Assistance. 

Affected residents and business owners in the newly-designated counties can check to see if they are eligible for disaster assistance from state, federal and voluntary organizations by visiting https://www.disasterassistance.gov/get-assistance/find-assistance. This tool can help you identify available resources in your community. 

Visit www.disasterassistance.gov or call 1-800-621-3362 to assess your needs and to find out what federal assistance may be available to you. If you use TTY, call 800-462-7585. If you use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 800-621-3362. 

Although FEMA cannot make you whole, it may help your recovery move forward by providing grants for basic repairs to make your home safe, sanitary and secure. FEMA assistance may also provide temporary help with a place for you and your family to stay while you build your own recovery plan. 

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to businesses, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters to cover residential and business losses as a result of the disaster. Applicants can apply for a low-interest disaster loan online using SBA’s secure website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela

In addition, applicants can get more information on SBA disaster assistance by calling SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955, by visiting www.sba.gov/disaster, or by emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call 800-877-8339.

FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters. Follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/femaregion6 and the FEMA Blog at http://blog.fema.gov.  

For mitigation information and regularly updated disaster information go to:

http://www.fema.gov/armit | http://www.fema.gov/disaster/4441

The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955. TTY users may also call 800-877-8339. Applicants may also email disastercustomerservice@sba.gov or visit SBA at www.SBA.gov/disaster

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.