FEMA: Louisa County Added to Iowa Disaster Declaration

Residents of Louisa County can now apply for disaster assistance to help them recover from the severe storms and flooding that began March 12.

They join seven counties already designated for state and federal help to individuals: Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie, Shelby and Woodbury. The deadline for applying for assistance is July 1, 2019.

FEMA disaster assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary housing and minimal home repairs as well as other serious disaster-related unmet needs such as eligible medical and dental expenses and replacing essential personal property.

Those who live in Louisa County who have already registered with FEMA do not need to re-apply. The registration is now active and being processed.

If you have registered with FEMA and reported damage to your house, you will receive a call from an inspector to arrange for a visit.

Here is a step-by-step process to get started:

  •  Document your damage – photos/video, list of damaged contents.
  •  Contact your insurance agent to see if there is coverage under homeowners,  renters and/or flood insurance policies. You will need to submit insurance settlement information or denial to FEMA because FEMA cannot duplicate benefits.

Next, register with FEMA. Here’s how:

  • Go online to www.disasterassistance.gov
  • Download the FEMA app on your smartphone (www.fema.gov/mobile-app)
  • Call toll-free 1-800-621-3362. Lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., 7 days a week until further notice. For TTY, dial 1-800-462-7585. If you use 711 or VRS, dial 1-800-621-3362.

After applying with FEMA, some survivors may be referred to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). Low-interest disaster loans from SBA are available for eligible survivors. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofits, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits from other agencies or organizations.

Residents and business owners should apply immediately if referred to SBA as part of the overall federal disaster recovery process, and they should not wait for insurance claims to be settled. There is no cost to apply for an SBA low-interest disaster loan and no obligation to accept one, if approved.

For a comprehensive listing of state and federal recovery resources, go online to www.floods2019.iowa.gov or www.fema.gov/disaster/4421.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has faced discrimination, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362, voice/VP/711. Multilingual operators are available. TTY users may call 800-462-7585.

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.