December 24, 2021

FEMA: Marion County, KY Designated for FEMA Assistance

Marion County residents may now be eligible for FEMA assistance for damage suffered during the Dec. 10 storms and tornadoes.

Individuals and households in the designated counties may apply for FEMA Individual Assistance, which may include temporary housing assistance, basic home repairs and certain other uninsured disaster-related needs.

Other counties previously designated for assistance are: Barren, Caldwell, Christian, Fulton, Graves, HartHickman, Hopkins, LoganLyon, Marshall, MuhlenbergOhio, Taylor and Warren.

Residents in the designated counties can apply online at, by calling 800-621-3362, or by using the FEMA mobile app. If you use a relay service, such as video relay (VRS), captioned telephone or other service, give FEMA the number for that service. When you apply, you will need to provide:

Residents may also visit a disaster recovery center to apply with FEMA. For an updated list of locations, visit

The deadline to apply for federal assistance is Feb. 11, 2022.

For an accessible video on how to apply for FEMA assistance, go to

Marion County also joins Barren, Caldwell, Christian, Fulton, Graves, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Lyon, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Taylor, and Warren counties designated for FEMA Public Assistance, which provides reimbursement to local and state government agencies for the costs of eligible emergency protective measures and debris removal.

Under the President’s order, the federal share for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct federal assistance, has been increased to 100 percent of the total eligible costs, for a 30-day period from the date of the declaration.

For more information about Kentucky tornado recovery, visit Follow the FEMA Region 4 Twitter account at

This post was originally published here.