March 29, 2022

FEMA: President Biden Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Washington

FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of Washington to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe winter storms, straight-line winds, flooding, landslides and mudslides from Jan. 1-Jan. 15, 2022.

The President’s action makes federal funding available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities in Cowlitz, Franklin, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Klickitat, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Skagit, Skamania, Thurston, and Wahkiakum counties; and the Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation, Hoh Indian Tribe, Nisqually Indian Tribe, Quinault Indian Nation, Shoalwater Bay Indian Tribe, Skokomish Indian Tribe, Squaxin Island Indian Tribe, Swinomish Indian Tribal Community and the Upper Skagit Indian Tribe.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Toney L. Raines has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.

Note: This release was amended on March 30 to correct the previous release which incorrectly stated additional tribal nations in this major disaster declaration.

This post was originally published here.