October 2, 2018

FEMA: President Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for New York

The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of New York to supplement state, and eligible tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms and flooding on August 13 to August 15, 2018.

Federal funding is available to state, and eligible tribal and local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding in Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Schuyler, Seneca, and Tioga counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures within the state.

Seamus K. Leary has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Leary said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

This post was originally published here.