January 21, 2020

FEMA: President Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for North Dakota

FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of North Dakota to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by flooding beginning on Oct. 9 – 26, 2019.

The President’s action makes federal funding is available to the state, tribal, eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by flooding in Barnes, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, Mountrail, Nelson, Sargent, Sheridan, Stutsman, Traill, Walsh, and Wells counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Dana C. Reynolds has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Reynolds said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Related Content: Federal Aid Programs for the State of North Dakota

This post was originally published here.