FEMA: San Jacinto County, TX Added to Disaster Declaration for Tropical Storm Imelda

San Jacinto County has been designated for disaster assistance as part of Texas’s federal disaster declaration for severe storms and flooding that occurred Sept. 17-23. Survivors of Tropical Storm Imelda may now register for assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

This announcement brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to seven with today’s addition. Other counties previously declared are Harris, Chambers, Jefferson, Liberty, Orange, and Montgomery. 

State and local officials continue to assess damages to determine whether federal thresholds have been met for public assistance.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters may be eligible for grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.  

To register, go online to DisasterAssistance.gov, call the FEMA helpline at 800-621-3362 or visit a Disaster Recovery Center. Help is available in most languages and phone lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Survivors who plan to register with FEMA at a Disaster Recovery Center should have the following information:

  • Social Security number
  • Address of the damaged primary residence
  • Description of the damage
  • Information about insurance coverage
  • A current contact telephone number
  • An address where they can receive mail
  • Bank account and routing numbers for direct deposit of funds

Low-interest disaster loans from SBA are also available to businesses, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters to cover residential and business losses as a result of the disaster. Applicants can visit a DRC for one-on-one assistance, visit www.SBA.gov/disasteror call SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955

Disaster recovery centers are accessible to people with disabilities. American Sign Language interpreters may be available to assist at a DRC.

FEMA Disaster survivors who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585 to register. Those who use 711 or VRS (Video Relay Service) or require accommodations while visiting a center may call 800-621-3362. All disaster recovery centers are accessible and equipped with tools to accommodate disaster survivors who need disability-related communication aids.

Survivors can find DRCs within the Tropical Storm Imelda declared area by using the online FEMA DRC Locator at https://egateway.fema.gov/ESF6/DRCLocator.

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.