FEMA: Seven More Oklahoma Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

 Continuing preliminary damage assessments have resulted in seven more Oklahoma counties being designated for disaster assistance as part of the federal disaster declaration for severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding that began on May 7, 2019. 

This announcement brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to 17 with today’s addition of Delaware, Kay, Mayes, Okmulgee, Payne, Pottawatomie and Sequoyah. 

Canadian, Creek, Logan, Muskogee, Osage, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington are the counties previously designated for Individual Assistance. 

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to businesses, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters to cover residential and business losses as a result of the disaster. 

Affected residents and business owners in the newly designated counties may apply for disaster assistance by calling FEMA’s toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800- 462-7585. An application may also be completed online by going to www.DisasterAssistance.gov

Applicants can apply for a low-interest disaster loan online using SBA’s secure website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela

In addition, applicants can get more information on SBA disaster assistance by calling SBA’s 

Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955, by visiting www.sba.gov/disaster, or by emailing 

disastercustomerservice@sba.gov. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call (800) 877-8339.

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.