FEMA: Six More Missouri Counties Now Eligible for Federal Disaster Assistance

 Individuals, households, businesses and nonprofits affected by late April storms and flooding in Callaway, Jefferson, Lewis, McDonald, Newton and Saline counties are now eligible to register for federal disaster assistance.

With the addition of the six counties, Missouri now has 26 counties designated as eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance programs. The 20 counties previously designated for assistance are Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Cole, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Lafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Miller, Osage, Pike, Platte, Pulaski and St. Charles.

To be eligible for federal assistance, damage must have occurred April 29-July 5 during the storms, flooding and tornadoes. The deadline to register for federal assistance is Sept. 9.

Disaster assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary rental assistance, essential home repairs and other disaster-related needs such as medical and dental expenses.

FEMA grants do not have to be repaid. FEMA assistance is nontaxable and will not affect eligibility for Social Security, Medicaid or other federal benefits.

There are three ways to register for federal assistance: 

  • Online at DisasterAssistance.gov
  • By calling the disaster assistance helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362) (v/VRS/711) or 800-462-7585 (TTY). Lines are open daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.
  • At one of FEMA’s disaster recovery center locations. The centers are equipped with video remote interpreting and assistive listening devices. Ask for an in-person American Sign Language (ASL) interpreter, if needed.

Missouri residents can also apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business  Administration, the federal government’s primary source of funding for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. For more information, residents may contact SBA’s disaster assistance customer service center at 800-659-2955. Applicants may also email SBA disaster customer service or visit SBA’s disaster webpage

Follow recovery updates in Missouri on Twitter @MOSEMA_and @FEMARegion7. Get the latest information at Missouri’s recovery website and FEMA’s disaster webpage

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.