FEMA: Thirteen More Indiana Counties Eligible for Disaster Assistance

Homeowners and renters whose primary residence is in Dearborn, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaPorte, Ohio, Porter, Pulaski, Spencer, Starke, Switzerland, Vanderburgh and White counties may apply for federal disaster assistance to cover uninsured losses for damage caused by the flooding that occurred Feb. 14 through March 4, 2018. Business owners in these counties may also apply for assistance. The deadline to apply is Thursday, July 5, 2018.

Public Assistance (PA) is also now available in Pulaski County. FEMA PA grant funding for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities is available in 28 Indiana counties, including Benton, Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Elkhart, Floyd, Fulton, Gibson, Harrison, Jasper, Jefferson, LaPorte, Marshall, Newton, Ohio, Perry, Porter, Pulaski, Spencer, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Wabash, Warren, Warrick and White.

The nine counties already eligible under FEMA’s Individual Assistance program are Carroll, Clark, Elkhart, Floyd, Harrison, Jefferson, Lake, Marshall and St. Joseph.

Keep in mind when applying for Individual Assistance:

  • The flood damage must have occurred at your primary residence.
  • FEMA cannot pay for damage covered by insurance or duplicate benefits from another source.
  • FEMA grants are meant for costs to return your home to a safe, sanitary and functional place to live. Damage to non-essential space or property is not eligible under FEMA programs.

Survivors are encouraged to register with FEMA before the July 5 deadline. If you have phone and/or internet access, you may register in one of the following ways:

  • Online at DisasterAssistance.gov.
  • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 for voice, 711 and Video Relay Service (VRS). If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585. Information on the registration process is available in ASL at: fema.gov/medialibrary/assets/videos/111546.
  • The toll-free numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Eastern time (6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Central time), seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.
  • Download the FEMA App and apply.

You may visit any open Disaster Recovery Center; find one near you at www.fema.gov/disaster-recovery-centers or by calling the FEMA Helpline.

Survivors should also contact their insurance company to file an insurance claim. FEMA is unable to duplicate insurance payments. However, those without insurance or those who may be underinsured may still receive help after theirinsurance claims have been settled.

For more information on Indiana’s recovery, visit www.fema.gov/disaster/4363 or the @FEMARegion5 Twitter account.


Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.