September 28, 2023

HUD: Manufactured Housing Consensus Committee Appointments Announced

The committee advises HUD on manufactured housing production, regulations, and administration of the Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) announced today the appointment of three new members and the reappointment of three current members to serve on the Manufactured Housing Consensus Committee (MHCC).

These appointments, along with the establishment of the Office of Manufactured Housing Programs as an independent office in June, underscore the Biden-Harris Administration’s commitment to the importance of manufactured housing in an increasingly unaffordable housing market. The MHCC provides valuable advice to the Office of Manufactured Housing Programs regarding HUD’s manufactured home construction and safety standards.

“Manufactured housing is an increasingly important affordable alternative for families across the nation,” said Assistant Secretary and Federal Housing Commissioner Julia Gordon. “The Manufactured Housing Consensus Committee helps us ensure that the HUD Code meets the evolving needs of households and communities with respect to design, safety, energy efficiency, and resilience of manufactured homes.”

The following new and returning MHCC members announced today will serve until their membership terms conclude on December 31, 2025.

New appointees:

Returning appointees:

About HUD’s Manufactured Housing Consensus Committee

The Manufactured Housing Consensus Committee (MHCC) is a statutory Federal Advisory Committee body charged with providing recommendations to the Secretary on the revision and interpretation of HUD’s manufactured home construction and safety standards and related procedural and enforcement regulations. Authorized by the Manufactured Housing Improvement Act of 2000, which amended the National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act of 1974, the MHCC is organized to carry out its business in a manner that guarantees a fair opportunity for the expression and consideration of various positions and for public participation and is composed of twenty-one voting members: seven producers/retailers; seven users/consumers; and seven general interest/public officials.

This post was originally published here.