ABA: Foundation Community Commitment Awards Call for Entries

Deadline for entries is July 1

WASHINGTON — The American Bankers Association’s Foundation is requesting submissions for its annual Community Commitment Awards to recognize banks’ essential involvement in their communities.
The awards will honor innovative, high impact contributions banks make to the customers and communities they serve. The entry period will extend to July 1.
“Receiving a Community Commitment Award is one of the greatest honors a bank can earn,” said William Dana Jr., president and CEO of Central Bank of Kansas City and chairman of the ABA Foundation board of directors. “It reflects their commitment to their customers and to improving the quality of life in the communities they serve.”
The awards are given to banks of all asset sizes and judged by a panel of nationally recognized experts. The ABA Community Commitment Awards for 2016 will recognize excellence in seven categories:
  • Affordable Housing;
  • Community and Economic Development;
  • Financial Education;
  • Nontraditional Borrower and Underbanked;
  • Protecting Older Americans;
  • Volunteerism; and
  • The George Bailey Award, for non-CEO bank employees who demonstrate outstanding service to their bank, industry and community.
For full category descriptions, please click here.
Award winners will be honored in a ceremony during ABA’s Annual Convention in Nashville, Oct. 16-18. All awardees will receive a complimentary registration to the convention.
All Community Commitment Award entries will be displayed on the ABA Foundation’s “Banks in Their Communities” map – an interactive, searchable map on aba.com that showcases all program entries by state.  The map serves as a database for corporate social responsibility efforts across the industry.
The Community Commitment Awards were established in 2005 to commend banks’ exceptional charitable achievements. The program recognizes the contributions of banks of all asset sizes to the growth and vitality of their communities.
For an entry form or a list of past winners, visit aba.com/awards. For more information, contact Melissa Murray at mmurray@aba.comor 202-663-5440.
To view this year’s Community Commitment Award Call for Entries video, visit ABA’s Youtube page.