ABA: Officers, Board Nominated for 2021-2022

The American Bankers Association’s Nominating Committee has selected the official slate of candidates for election at the association’s annual meeting to be held October 17-19 in Tampa, Fla.

The committee, chaired by Laurie Stewart, president and CEO, Sound Community Bank, Seattle, nominated these candidates for ABA officer positions:

  • CHAIR: A. Scott Anderson, president and CEO, Zions Bank, Salt Lake City;
  • CHAIR-ELECT: Daniel D. Robb, president and CEO, Jonesburg State Bank, Jonesburg, Mo.;
  • VICE CHAIR: Julieann M. Thurlow, president and CEO, Reading Cooperative Bank, Reading, Mass.; and
  • TREASURER: Louise A. Walker, president and CEO, First Northern Community Bancorp., Dixon, Calif.

The committee also nominated the following candidates for the ABA board of directors for consideration at the ABA annual meeting:

  • John Asbury, CEO, Atlantic Union Bankshares Corp., Richmond, Va.;
  • Bryan Bruns, president and CEO, Lake Central Bank, Annandale, Minn;
  • Kenneth Kelly, chairman and CEO, First Independence Bank, Detroit,;
  • James McQuade, president and CEO, Dollar Bank, Pittsburgh, Pa;
  • Dave D. Nelson, president and CEO, West Bancorporation, Inc., West Des Moines, Iowa; and
  • Jennifer Piepszak, Co-CEO, Consumer & Community Banking, JPMorgan Chase, New York

The above nominees will join ABA President and CEO Rob Nichols, who also serves as an officer, and these current or appointed directors on ABA’s board:

  • Andrew Anderson, president, CEO and CFO, Bank of Anguilla, Anguilla, Miss.;
  • Shan L. Hanes, president and CEO, Heartland Tri-State Bank, Elkhart, Kan.;
  • James (Chip) Mahan III, chairman and CEO, Live Oak Banking Company, Wilmington, N.C.;
  • Catherine Owen, chairman and CEO, State Holding Company, Little Rock, Ark., and vice chair of the ABA Government Relations Council;
  • B. Michael Rauh, Jr., president and CEO, Chelsea Groton Bank, Norwich, Conn.;
  • Ira Robbins, president and CEO, Valley National Bancorp, Wayne, N.J.;
  • James A. Reuter, CEO, FirstBank Holding Company, Denver;
  • Carissa Rodeheaver, chairman, president and CEO, First United Bank & Trust, Oakland, Md.;
  • Kevin Sabin, chief executive officer, Arvest Bank, Fayetteville, Ark.;
  • Michael L. Scudder, chairman and CEO, First Midwest Bancorp, Inc., Chicago;
  • Daniel C. Yates, president and CEO, Brattleboro Savings & Loan, Brattleboro, Vt.;
  • James J. Edwards, Jr., CEO, United Bank, Griffin, Ga., and chair of the ABA Nominating Committee;
  • Jim Kisch., president and CEO, Passumpsic Bancorp, Saint Johnsbury, Vt., and chair of the ABA Government Relations Council; and
  • J. Duncan Campbell III, president and CEO, Pennsylvania Bankers Association, Harrisburg, Pa. and chair of the ABA State Banker Association Alliance

“We applaud the Nominating Committee for putting forth such an impressive slate of officers and board members at a time when banks continue to play a leadership role in helping our economy recover from the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Rob Nichols, ABA president and CEO. “Their extensive knowledge, experience and unwavering commitment to our industry will serve them well as they represent America’s banks in these critically important roles. I look forward to working with them to ensure banks of all sizes can overcome any challenges while helping their customers, clients and communities succeed.”

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.