September 19, 2022

ABA: Seven Banks Win ABA Foundation’s 2022 Community Commitment Awards

The American Bankers Association Foundation named seven banks as 2022 Community Commitment Award winners. The annual awards recognize banks for extraordinary corporate social responsibility efforts in seven specific categories ranging from affordable housing to economic inclusion. The winners will be recognized at ABA’s Annual Convention in Austin, Texas on Oct. 4.

The selection committee, made up of independent, national experts in each category, reviewed bank nominations from across the country and chose winners based on specific criteria including the creativity and thoughtfulness of the bank program. Community Commitment Award winners must embody the ideals of corporate social responsibility and demonstrate success in measurable terms.

“As I reviewed this year’s winners and their programs, I felt an immense sense of pride for the creative and meaningful work America’s banks continue to undertake in communities across the country,” said Rob Nichols, ABA president and CEO. “We thank them for their incredible efforts and hope their stories inspire even more banks to consider similar programs in their communities.” 

The 2022 award winners by category are: 

Affordable Housing

Community and Economic Development

Economic Inclusion

Financial Education

Protecting Older Americans

Supporting Military Families


“America’s banks continue to serve as real drivers of community change,” said Lindsay Torrico, executive director, ABA Foundation. “We’re proud to recognize these seven institutions and hope their good work will inspire others to engage in meaningful ways that create positive social impact.”

All nominations for this year’s Community Commitment Awards will be added to the ABA Foundation’s Banks in their Communities searchable database that showcases the corporate social responsibility efforts of banks across the country and allows users to search and view program profiles. Winning and honorable mention entries are also included.

As a part of the annual Community Commitment Award program, the ABA Foundation also honors an individual banker with the George Bailey Distinguished Service Award. The award is given to a non-CEO bank employee who demonstrates outstanding initiative, commitment to their customers and community, and the ability to inspire others. This year’s George Bailey Award winner is Lola Pol of Capital Bank in Rockville, Md. Pol will also be recognized at ABA’s Annual Convention on Oct. 4 in Austin.

This post was originally published here.