October 12, 2021

ABA: Six Banks Win ABA Foundation’s 2021 Community Commitment Awards

Banks of all sizes earn banking industry’s highest honor awards for community programs

The American Bankers Association Foundation named six banks as 2021 Community Commitment Award winners. The annual awards recognize banks for extraordinary corporate social responsibility efforts in six specific categories ranging from affordable housing to economic inclusion. The winners will be recognized at ABA’s Annual Convention in Tampa on Oct. 19.

The selection committee, made up of independent, national experts in each category, reviewed bank nominations from across the country and chose winners based on specific criteria including the creativity and thoughtfulness of the bank program. Community Commitment Award winners must embody the ideals of corporate social responsibility and demonstrate success in measurable terms.

“Over the last two years, we have seen America’s banks demonstrate an unwavering commitment to supporting their communities in good times and bad,” said Rob Nichols, ABA president and CEO. “This year’s winners represent the very best our industry has to offer and we’re proud to recognize them for their tremendous efforts.”

The 2021 award winners by category are:

Affordable Housing

Community and Economic Development

Economic Inclusion

Financial Education

Protecting Older Americans


“Our bankers continue to find creative and innovative ways to address the critical challenges facing underserved communities throughout the U.S.,” said Corey Carlisle, executive director of the ABA Foundation. “Their programs and initiatives have made a meaningful difference for so many and we’re proud to celebrate all they have accomplished. I hope these awards ideas inspire other banks to consider similar programs in their communities.”

All nominations for this year’s Community Commitment Awards will be added to the ABA Foundation’s Banks in their Communities interactive map. The map showcases the corporate social responsibility efforts of banks across the country and allows users to search and view program profiles. Winning and honorable mention entries are noted on the map.

As a part of the annual Community Commitment Award program, the ABA Foundation also honors an individual banker with the George Bailey Distinguished Service Award. The award is given to a non-CEO bank employee who demonstrates outstanding initiative, commitment to their customers and community, and the ability to inspire others. This year’s George Bailey Award winner is Mary O’Connor of Country Club Bank in Kansas City, Mo.

This post was originally published here.