FEMA: Noble, Okmulgee, Ottawa and Tillman Counties Added to Oklahoma Disaster Declaration

Four more counties in Oklahoma are now eligible to apply for FEMA’s Public Assistance funding to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas that sustained damage from the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding between May 7 and June 9, 2019. 

Noble, Okmulgee, Ottawa and Tillman counties may now request reimbursements under the Public Assistance grant program. Assistance would cover eligible disaster-related debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair or rebuilding of public facilities, such as roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities. 

The president’s June 1, 2019 major disaster declaration was amended to add the four counties to 45 counties already designated for Public Assistance. Public Assistance reimbursements are made on a cost-sharing basis (75 percent federal share) to counties, municipalities, state, tribes, and certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency work, restoration of infrastructure and direct federal assistance.

The 45 counties previously approved for Public Assistance are Adair, Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harper, Jackson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Le Flore, Logan, Lincoln, Mayes, Muskogee, Nowata, Osage, Okfuskee, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, Pittsburg, Pushmataha, Rogers, Roger Mills, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward. 

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.