FEMA: President Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for South Dakota

 FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of South Dakota to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding beginning on June 30 to July 21, 2019.

The President’s action makes federal funding available to the state, tribal, eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair and replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in Butte, Gregory, Kingsbury, Lawrence, Meade, and Tripp counties, the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe of the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation and the Lower Brule Tribe of the Lower Brule Reservation.
Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

James R. Stephenson has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Stephenson said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Related Content: Federal Aid Programs for The State Of South Dakota

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.