September 26, 2023

ABA: Eight Banks Win 2023 Community Commitment Awards

The American Bankers Association Foundation today named eight banks as 2023 Community Commitment Award winners. The annual awards recognize banks for extraordinary corporate social responsibility efforts in seven specific categories ranging from affordable housing to economic inclusion. The winners will be recognized at ABA’s Annual Convention in Nashville, Tenn. on Oct. 10.

The selection committee, made up of independent, national experts in each category, reviewed bank nominations from across the country and chose winners based on specific criteria including the creativity and thoughtfulness of the bank program. Community Commitment Award winners must embody the ideals of corporate social responsibility and demonstrate success in measurable terms.

“I am continually amazed and proud of the work America’s banks do to support communities nationwide,” said Rob Nichols, ABA president and CEO. “The efforts of the banks recognized this year have changed the lives of many and showcase the very best our industry has to offer. I hope other institutions will join me in applauding their good work and duplicating it where possible.”

The 2023 award winners by category are:

Affordable Housing

Community and Economic Development

Economic Inclusion

Financial Education

Protecting Older Americans

Supporting Military Families


“These eight winning programs exemplify the transformational impact that banks can have in the communities they serve,” said Lindsay Torrico, executive director, ABA Foundation. “All of these initiatives required dedication and commitment from bank leadership and the employees involved. We’re pleased to have this opportunity to shine a light on their efforts to drive community and economic change.”

As a part of the annual Community Commitment Award program, the ABA Foundation also honors an individual banker with the George Bailey Distinguished Service Award. The award is given to a non-CEO bank employee who demonstrates outstanding initiative, commitment to their customers and community, and the ability to inspire others. This year’s George Bailey Award winner is Paola Fernandez of Centreville Bank in Rhode Island. Fernandez will also be recognized at ABA’s Annual Convention on Oct. 10 in Nashville, Tenn. 

All nominations for this year’s Community Commitment Awards will be added to the ABA Foundation’s Banks in their Communities searchable database that showcases the corporate social responsibility efforts of banks of all sizes across the country and allows users to search and view program profiles. Winning and honorable mention entries are also included.

This post was originally published here.