October 20, 2020

ABA: Seven Banks Win ABA Foundation’s 2020 Community Commitment Awards

The American Bankers Association Foundation named seven banks as 2020 Community Commitment Award winners. The annual awards recognize banks for extraordinary corporate social responsibility efforts in seven specific categories ranging from affordable housing to economic inclusion. The winners will be recognized today at ABA’s Unconventional Convention.

“This has been a challenging year in so many ways, and banks of all sizes have stepped up to assist their communities at this time of need,” said Rob Nichols, ABA president and CEO. “The banks and programs recognized by this year’s Community Commitment Awards showcase banking at its best, and the essential role banks play in helping communities confront difficult issues.”

The selection committee, made up of independent, national experts in each category, reviewed bank nominations from across the country and chose winners based on specific criteria including the creativity and thoughtfulness of the bank program. Community Commitment Award winners must embody the ideals of corporate social responsibility and demonstrate success in measurable terms.

The 2020 award winners by category are:

Affordable Housing

Community and Economic Development

Economic Inclusion

Financial Education

Protecting Older Americans

Supporting Military Families


“This year’s award winners exemplify the creativity and innovative spirit of the banks and their community partners,” said Corey Carlisle, executive director of the ABA Foundation. “Their achievements and tireless efforts address many of today’s most critical challenges for underserved communities across the country.”

All nominations for this year’s Community Commitment Awards will be added to the ABA Foundation’s Banks in their Communities interactive map. The map showcases the corporate social responsibility efforts of banks across the country and allows users to search and view program profiles. Winning and honorable mention entries are noted on the map.

As a part of the annual Community Commitment Award program, the ABA Foundation also honors individual bankers with the George Bailey Distinguished Service Award. The award is given to non-CEO bank employees who demonstrate outstanding initiative, commitment to their customers and community, and the ability to inspire others. This year’s George Bailey Award co-winners are Alex Fennoy of Midwest Centre Bank in Missouri and Detra Miller of M&T Bank in Baltimore. This is the first time in the award’s six-year history that two bankers will be honored for their individual efforts in their community.

This post was originally published here.